SANHA and rainbow chickens

Question ID: 23515

Assalamu Alaikum Mufti
I am very confused and was hoping that you could help me with the questions below. I don’t like to get involved in all the politics between the people, and I make no judgements on anyone- but I need to know the true facts here as this is my body, my health and my Imaan at stake here. (I really don’t want to eat any haraam).

1. Ok, so you state that rainbow chickens is haraam. why does everybody else say that it is halaal? all of you seem to be Allah fearing Muslims, so why is there this confusion and disunity. Clearly everybody knows what a big sin it is to make others eat haraam- so why would anybody want to bear this burden? I am not trying to cause fitna here- but I really need to understand what is going on here.
2. If i have to take into account all that you say about rainbow chickens- then should I treat it as haraam meat? If so, and take into mind that all the Muslim butcheries stock rainbow chickens- then should I be worried about contamination and such. The same freezers are used to stock rainbow chickens, etc… what do i do then?

3. Majority of restaurants probably buy rainbow chickens. Even if I don’t order anything chicken- should I then be worried about contamination. I wouldn’t ordinarily eat at a restaurant that sells haraam meat (because I would be worried about contamination) so what do I do at these restaurants?
Im not trying to be difficult. But if all these chickens are haraam, all these chickens that Muslims outlets are all selling- then we have a serious problem.

Marked as spam
Asked on May 7, 2010 12:00 am
Private answer
1) Big money is at stake. 7m rands for one and 14m rands for another. Big reputation is also at stake. Big salaries are at stake. Will loose support from butcheries.
2) Avoid buying from that places where you see Rainbow chickens.
3) In fact on survey shows most restaurants have stopped using rainbow. You as the customer have the right to enquire about them make the necessary decision.
Also we are not the only ones saying Rainbow etc. is haraam.
Moreover ask those who say that it is Halaal to produce proofs.
Marked as spam
Answered on May 7, 2010 12:00 am